Day off

Hello everyone!  Sorry you haven’t heard from me in a few days, a shaky connection combined with a super-packed schedule is keeping me from posting as often as I’d like.  This past week was training, and we did a LOT of things.  Next week is also packed, so I’ll just write an  overview of fun things we had done, and if there’s anything that sounds cool to you and you want to hear more about, just leave a comment and I’ll do a more in-depth post about it.

On Sunday the 15th, the day before training officially started, two of the other volunteers and I went to see Shanivar Wada, an old mansion, the ruins of which are now open to the public.  We paid 100 rupees to enter.  It was really pretty outside and inside.

During training, we went on a walk around the neighborhood surrounding Sangam.  The most interesting thing I noticed about it was the Mosque, church, and Ganesh temple (Hindu) all on the same block, sharing communal outdoor spaces.  Our guide told us they all get along very well and participate in each others celebrations.  I thought that was great and will make sure to include that when it’s my turn to give the tour to participants.

Well, that’s it for now, tomorrow I’ll post about riding in rickshaws and traffic.

I hope you are all enjoying your summer as much as I am, don’t forget to comment,

Ana C


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maureen mohn
    Jun 11, 2011 @ 19:31:12

    I really enjoy all the news from there.

    Reply

  2. Mere
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 21:39:34

    Anza, i like reading this blog! i forgot you were doing this. Post a link on fb when you update it, ya? Then i’ll remember to read it. Have fun with all of your adventures in INDIA!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

