Time Flys

Hello everyone!

Happy August everyone, I am officially have only one month left in India!  I can hardly believe it, time has flown by so fast.  But then again, if I look at how I was when I first arrived and how I am now, it’s hard to imagine that it’s only been two and a half months, I have learned so much about myself, India, Girl Scouting, and community action.

It’s crazy how fast a place and become familiar.  I was walking down to the local grocery store (Food Bazaar) the other night, and I saw one of the ladies who works in the kitchen at Sangam sitting on her doorstep.  I waved hello and said “Namaste” and continued on my way.  I felt so much like this was “my place”, and I know that you have to check your bag before you go into the grocery store, and I know which parts of the sidewalk to avoid because you’ll twist your ankle in the holes.

I think three months is a strange amount of time to be in one place.  It’s just enough so that you start to get used to being somewhere, and you can make really amazing friendships with people and then you have to leave.  I didn’t think about when I started here that I would learn just as much about Nigeria, the UK and Mexico as I have about India.  When I first got here and we all lived in the same dorm together we would stay up so late talking about the differences and similarities in our respective homes and it was fascinating.  I think everyone should have at least one international experience, even if it’s just with international people in their own country.  It makes you take your own culture and look at it from the outside, and maybe realize that just because you think or do something one way, doesn’t mean its the only way.  Maybe my way is different, not right or wrong, just different.

That’s why when I go home, I want to share my experience with as many people as I can, especially Girl Scouts.  By belonging to Girl Scouts of the USA, we also belong to the World Association of Girl Guides and Girl Scouts, and they provide great opportunities, like this one I’m pursuing now, for international learning, and so many girls don’t know about it.

So, before this turns into a commercial, I will end.  Sorry I don’t have any pictures for you today, my connection is very slow and I would rather post this now than wait until tomorrow to upload them.  I will try very hard to have pictures in the next post.  As always, please leave me a comment, question, or share your own international experience!

In the spirit of Sangam,

Ana Cristina

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lori
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 22:47:20

    What a great story I aplaude you for tyaking this great leap and having such great respect for others!

    Reply

  2. maureen mohn
    Aug 19, 2011 @ 00:49:57

    I miss you Ana and can’t wait to hear all about your adventures in India when you return home. Love Aunt Mo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

