Day 4: Sessions

Sunday was full of sessions. Sessions and yawns. After such a full day of work and partying at International Night, everyone was struggling to keep their eyes open. So, after an all but silent breakfast, the chaperones and I were off to our choice of different leadership and skill building sessions. I chose Evaluation and Assessment, Working with the Media, MDG 1: Poverty and Hunger, and Building Community Partnerships, in that order. Most of these sessions were designed to help us to help support the girls in the Take Action Projects.

Evaluation and Assessment
In this session we learned the difference between evaluation (checking your progress during your project) and assessment (analysis of your project when it is complete). That was about it, we got some worksheets with tips for going over this with our girls. We ended early, but not early enough to sneak in a nap.

Working with the Media
I was interested in this session for my upcoming job at Sangam, and because I’m always interested in learning how people are using social media. This blog has surprised me in how many people in different places it has reached and reaffirmed my belief that social media is something that Girl Scouts should be embracing to grow and sustain older girl membership. I would have liked to get a few more tips on exactly how to use sites like twitter, tumblr, flickr and such, but is was a great overview and informative for some people who don’t use these sites as much as I do. We watched this video about how social media is affecting our world.

MDG 1: Eradicate Extreme Poverty and Hunger
This session was about how to introduce this MDG to your girls. I chose to do this one because out of the three offered, it was the one I personally know the least about. Learn more about the WAGGGS MDG program here. I actually did learn a lot about in this session. The UN definition of poverty is families living on less that $1 per day, and that a disproportionate number of impoverished people are women and girls, about 70%. The statistic that sparked the most discussion in my group was that the world does produce enough food to feed everyone on it, it’s just not getting distributed properly. We did an activity where each group got a different amount of money to feed a different amount of people for a week. We had to think about cost and also nutrition. My group did alright with $35 for three people, but each group was different. This would be a great activity for a troop to do and then compare answers. This slideshow goes very well with this activity.
Then we went into the hall for another activity. We made a big circle with a small circle of about five people in the middle and one person on the outside. The five people in the middle represent the people living in poverty. The large circle represents everyone else, who have enough to eat and who don’t really think about the people going hungry in the middle. The one person on the outside is trying to help the people on the inside but they have this barrier of apathy between them. The idea for the people inside to break out with the help of the person on the outside. This was a fun game, and shows how hard it is to break out of the cycle of poverty. It was a great session and I learned a lot.

Now, I have a confession to make. After lunch was my last session of the day. I could barely keep my eyes open during lunch, and I knew it was going to be another late night running around Chicago on a scavenger hunt. So, after lunch, I went up to my room to sleep instead of going to my session. I feel bad that the girls were in sessions all day, but I really needed the sleep.
That night was the Chicago scavenger hunt. It was really fun and I have a lot of pictures so I’ll do a separate post for that.
Now that the Forum is over, I’m trying to think of ways to keep all of you who are reading this connected. I’m still thinking on it, but feel free to comment with how you would like to stay involved.
Yours in scouting,
Ana Cristina

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Karla Gerdeman Bailey
    Jul 18, 2012 @ 22:38:21

    hope you keep posting! and I hope you are rested up a bit after the busy week 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

